Key Stage 5

National Extended Certificate in SPORT (Equivalent to 1 A Level)

Course length:                   Two years

Examination Board:           Edexcel

Entry Requirements:          BTEC Level 2 in Sport or GCSE PE at Grade 9 – 5

Why choose BTEC Sport. 

The qualification has been designed as a full two-year programme for post-16 learners. This qualification is particularly appropriate for learners who are interested in progressing to a career in sport and physical activity development, either directly, or through higher education.

How things have changed for BTEC National in Sport

The new BTEC qualifications offer a wider range of assessments including assignments, scenario tasks and a written exam. This balanced approach means that students can showcase for future employers how they apply their learning to practical, everyday workplace challenges. Whilst higher education institutes can be confident that BTEC qualified students are well prepared for a higher level of study and assessment.

The Course

You will study 4 units over the 2 years (2 per year) for the Extended Certificate. These units cover both the theoretical and practical aspects of sport, and include:

Year 1

  • Anatomy and Physiology.
  • Fitness Training and Programming for Health, Sport and Well-being.

Year 2

  • Professional Development in the Sports Industry.
  • Sports Leadership

Where It Will Lead 

  • Progress into further study at university completing such courses as Physical Education, Coaching and Sports Development, Leisure Management, Sport and Exercise Science, Sport Rehabilitation and many more.
  • Pursue a career in a range of areas including; health and lifestyle services, sports development, sports rehabilitation, sports coaching or as a sports performer.


The course is assessed through a wide variety of assessment methods. Three units will be externally assessed, including one written exam and two pre-release tasks, which will be set and marked by Pearson. The remaining units will be internally assessed using assessment methods such as written reports, logbooks, presentations, lab reports and practical performance. Each individual unit is graded Pass (P), Merit (M) or Distinction (D). For externally assessed units only, a grade of N may be awarded for learners not gaining enough marks for a P grade. The overall qualification will be grades e.g. P, M, D, D* directly equivalent to one A Level.