Level 3

Pearson BTEC Level 3 Nationals in Health and Social Care

BTEC Level 3 Nationals are NEW in 2016 and have been designed to be taken alongside one or more substantial qualifications post 16. The qualification provides learners with an element of sector specialism as part of their wider programme by developing a primary common core of knowledge in the sector through mandatory content. It is therefore particularly appropriate for those with an interest in progressing to a career in a health and social care-related field, who want to pursue this via a principally academic route and take it alongside other qualifications, such as A-levels in Biology, Psychology, Sociology or English Language.

Year 12 – BTEC Level 3 National Certificate in Health and Social Care

Equivalent in size to 0.5 of an A Level.

2 units, both mandatory, of which 1 is an external exam (50%).

An introduction to the health and social care sector through applied learning. Supports progression to higher education.

Year  13 – BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate in Health and Social Care

Equivalent in size to one A Level.

4 units of which 3 are mandatory and 2 are external. External assessment (58%).  A broad basis of study for the health and social care sector, building on the work completed in Year 12

Topics covered will include;

Human Lifespan Development

Meeting Individual Care and Support Needs

Working in Health and Social Care

Principles of Safe Practice in H&SC

Supporting Individual with Additional Needs

Nutritional Health