Health & Social

Exam Board


Topics covered and assessment

This Level 1/2 BTEC Tech Award has 3 compulsory components;

  1. Human Lifespan Development
  2. Health and Social Care Services and Values
  3. Health and Wellbeing

Components 1 and 2 are assessed through internal assessment. Internal assessment for these components has been designed to relate to the sector through realistic tasks and activities.

The components focus on:

  • knowledge and understanding of human growth and development
  • knowledge and understanding of how people deal with major life events
  • knowledge and understanding of health and social care services
  • practical demonstration of care values, together with the ability to reflect on own performance.

Component 3 is an assessed externally. It requires learners to assess an individual’s health and wellbeing and use this assessment to create a health and wellbeing improvement plan. The design of this external assessment ensures that there is sufficient stretch and challenge, enabling the assessment of knowledge and understanding at the end of the learning period.

Additional Information

BTEC Tech Award  in Health and Social Care provide a broad, solid foundation for progression to Level 3 and employment in the health and social care sector

This option is suitable for those who want to work in health, social care and childcare – with children, the elderly, people with disabilities and those in need.

The units covered will ensure you develop the knowledge, skills and attributes required to gain employment in your chosen vocation or to progress onto a higher level of study.